Menu toggle

Achievements at ACEMS Overview

In 2020, ACEMS members continued to be recognised for their research excellence and contributions to the mathematical sciences and beyond. Some of these exceptional achievements are highlighted below.

Governance Advisory Board member and Associate Investigator Tony Guttmann was named a member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the mathematical sciences and education. Aurore Delaigle was made a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and Rob Hyndman and Gael Martin were made Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia. Matthew Simpson was awarded the E.O. Tuck Medal, awarded to a mid-career researcher for outstanding research and distinguished service from ANZIAM (a division of the Australian Mathematical Society) and Peter Taylor was one of two people awarded the Cherry Ripe Prize for best non-student talk at the ANZIAM conference. Nicole White was selected by Science and Technology Australia as one of its Superstars of STEM. Susannah Cramb was given a Queensland Young Tall Poppy Science Award and Luca Maestrini was selected to represent the Australasian region at the 2020 International Biometric Conference.

Of ACEMS' Students: Masters student Rose Crocker won the T.M. Cherry Prize for best student presentation for her talk on improving mathematical predictions about climate and other geophysical systems at the ANZIAM conference. Masters student Sarah Belet won the Victorian state competition for FameLab and competed at the national FameLab finals. PhD student Alex Browning was awarded the Lee Segel Prize for ‘Best Student Paper’ from the Society for Mathematical Biology.

Read about their stories in this section and see the full list of awards and honours here.

The numbers

Prizes and Awards

PhD Completions